Joshua Schaub

Commissioner, Major Arena Soccer League

About this speaker

The 2019-2020 MASL season will be the fourth for Joshua Schaub as Commissioner. Prior to his arrival to the MASL, Mr. Schaub was a minor league baseball team owner/CEO, a co-founder of Da Beauty League, an adjunct law school professor (sports law), and an Associate Scout for the Milwaukee Brewers. He is currently a practicing attorney at Gutwein Law, LLP, and is based out of Minneapolis, MN. Through his work experience and teaching, Josh has developed a league philosophy that provides incremental valuations to its members. He is currently developing a scholarship to educate other leagues regarding this philosophy.

In his law practice, Josh focuses primarily on sports law and general corporate law. He enjoys working with professional and collegiate leagues that have outgrown their general “mom and pop” parameters and are now seeking new ways to generate revenue, become more efficient, and operate more effectively. The advice he gives his clients is rooted in 11 years of experience in the sports industry. As a CEO, owner, commissioner, and scout of multiple leagues and teams, Josh has brought a wealth of knowledge and experience to Gutwein Law’s sports law practice.

Josh earned his J.D. from the William Mitchell College of Law, where he was Chair of the Sports and Entertainment Law Society. Previously, he received his Bachelor of Science in Exercise and Sports Science from the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse. He has worked as an adjunct professor of sports law at Hamline University School of Law and as a guest lecturer for St. Thomas Law and William Mitchell College of Law. Josh is admitted to practice in Minnesota and the U.S. Federal Court for the District of Minnesota.

Contact This Speaker


Conversations with Legends of Indoor Soccer - First Day

May 05, 2020, 07:00 PM
Guy Newman Andy Schmetzer Zuani Villarreal Terry Leiweke Zoran Karic John Kowalski Al Miller Preki Dave MacKenzie Chris Toth Edwin Hale Branko Segota Paul Garofolo Keith Tozer Jim Kavanaugh Roy Turner Doc Lawson Joe Machnik Paul Wright Zoltan Toth Alan Hinton Don Ebert Doug Verb Joshua Schaub David Moxom Brian Quinn Bethany Rubin Henderson Ed Tepper Douglas Wark Chris Wright Phil Salvagio Len Komoroski Tim Leiweke Len Bilous Antonio Carlos Pecorari Michael Collins Steve Pecher Otto Orf Kenneth Cooper Juli Veee Diane Scavuzzo Miguel Luna JP Dellacamera Kim Roentved Hector Marinaro Alan Merrick David D'Errico Ted Eck Jim Pollihan Daryl Doran Paul Child Keith Van Eron

Conversations with Legends of Indoor Soccer - Second Day

May 06, 2020, 07:00 PM
Greg Howes Vini Dantas Lee Tschantret Doug Miller JP Dellacamera Frank Tayou Robert Esche SoccerSam Fantauzzo Lane Smith Chris Economides Hewerton Moreira Frederico Moojen Mark Pulisic Tommy Tanner Tom Wynn Nick Perera Brian Schmetzer Landon Donovan Herb Silva Joshua Schaub Pat Healey Nick Vasos Vlatko Andonovski Steve Ryan Danny Kelly Carl Delmont Clay Roberts Giuliano Oliviero Brett Phillips Chris Toth Todd Dusosky Leo Gibson Drew Ruggles Jamie Lovegrove Kraig Chiles Keith Tozer Esse Baharmast Ryan Cigich Shelly Clark Troy Dusosky Sean Bowers Danny Waltman